+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51
  1. #1
    LFG
    LFG is offline
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21,139
    Character
    Eric
    Guild
    Vegans for Jesus
    Server
    San Francisco

    Default Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    I finally finally got the chance to play in a dungeon group last nite where I didn't have to heal, I got to be group support and DPS, since the group had a cleric who wanted to heal.

    I also won every roll for blue chain in this group so it was pretty awesome.

    This is a basic question at this point, but I wanted some other opinions.

    Which of these roles do you think is best for a second cleric in a dungeon PUG, and why, or if you think a different set up is optimum, what and why:

    1. Shaman/Justicar
    2. Druid/Justicar
    3. Druid/Shaman
    4. Cabalist/Inquisitor

  2. #2
    You know the rules
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,976
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    3+4 because if there already is a healer, you dont need to and might as well dish out dps, depending on the number of mobs you switch between 3+4

  3. #3
    Prime Minister of Kenada Kendayar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4,200
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    4 is better most of the time. Druids do have the CC though. Really the only thing that stops me from being a caster dps all the time is that they are as squishy as a mage but without any of the fallbacks.

  4. #4
    Over the Line Debase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,736
    Character
    Acappella
    Guild
    Havoc/Onyx
    Server
    Nagafen

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    Cabalist is the clear choice for AE encounters. I'll defer to others on the ST damage of an Inquis versus one of the melee spec combinations.

    1 + 2 would be choice if you wanted to hedge your bet and be able to provide supportive healing at the cost of some of the dps, 3 will offer you slighly more damage that 1 + 2 and a bit less heals. 4 will probably offer you the most damage with the option of 0 (or almost 0?) non-self heals.

    My other comment is that your builds will play wildly differently, so be sure to understand how you prefer to play. Option 4 is more aim and shoot where as the other 3 options will require that you be more active in moving, etc.

  5. #5
    LFG
    LFG is offline
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21,139
    Character
    Eric
    Guild
    Vegans for Jesus
    Server
    San Francisco

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    I'ma install ACT finally (haven't used it in years) to quantify this shit.

    My favorite non warden/sent/purifier role is Shaman/Justicar. I like it because it is all awesome with no pet hassle.

    I was surprised at how easy my group went, with the tank always at full health, as the other group cleric played warden and I played shaman/justicar against group encounters using the two shaman multi-mob attacks, and how much harder it was, with the tank's health fluctuating wildly, when the other cleric left the group after the first run and I solo healed on a second run without any back up or support healing of any kind.

    We seemed to have excellent dps and full health no prob with automatic healing on the first run, while being much more of a struggle with me using drinks between every fight on the second run. I played a cleric or shaman between EQ and EQ2 for over ten years and I'm positive I don't suck as a healer, but when you are healing as fast as the buttons light up and using the correct heals and you still can't keep up, something is wrong.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    28
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    Which dungeon were you running LFG? And do you know the tanks setup?

  7. #7
    LFG
    LFG is offline
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    21,139
    Character
    Eric
    Guild
    Vegans for Jesus
    Server
    San Francisco

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    Quote Originally Posted by Xill View Post
    Which dungeon were you running LFG? And do you know the tanks setup?
    It was King's Breach, a level 35 dungeon, I was 36. I have no clue about the tank's set up. I know clerics well and a decent amount about rogues but don't know squat about the warrior class in this game.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    168
    Character
    Aculus
    Guild
    Server
    Nagafen

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    I've been running Inquisitor/Cabalist in T1 Experts the past couple days, during Beta I liked Shaman/Druid quite a bit but at the moment I like the debuff to increase magic damage on mobs since our primary DPS is a Mage, and the AOE DPS that gets put out between the two of us is quite a bit.



  9. #9
    FANLEZ
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4,096
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: Opinion on the best non-healer set up

    I like Cabalist/Inq myself but I'm only like 23, still after switching from melee cleric it was amazing how much faster shit died

  10. #10
    Ricky Recon
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    63
    Character
    Side
    Guild
    Server
    Najena

    Default

    I like inq/sent/cab myself. I switch out cab for justicar when soloing, but when running a dungeon as dps I go with cab. Although I've heard of some people using shaman for the 20% crit damage.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Sponsor Ads