Go Back   EQ2Flames Forum > Everything Else > Everything Else of Everything Else

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2008, 10:06 AM  
HAHA DISREGARD THAT I SUCK COCKS
 
Morara's Avatar
 
Character: Morara
Guild: Guild of Guildiness +5
Server: Oobag

Posts: 5,236
Photos: (0)

Default Interesting twist to phishing emails

I shouldn't have to include a disclaimer not to fall for crap like this, because if you're dumb enough to fall for this shit, natural selection will eventually remove your need for an account anyway.

Most phishing emails tend to go for your bank accounts, your Paypal accounts, and so on. This one is a little more small scale:

-------

From: security@worldofwarcraft.com [security@worldofvvarcraft.com]
Subject: We have a problem with your World Of Warcraft account

In attention of our World Of Warcraft customer,

Our automated security systems have indicated that access
to your online account was temporarily blocked due to to repeated
login failures. Our logs indicate that your account received 20
authentication failures during this time. It is most probable
that your account was subject to malicious attack through automated
brute forcing techniques. While World Of Warcraft were able to successfully
block this attack, we would recommend that you ensure that your password
is sufficiently complex to prevent future attacks.
You must click the link below and enter your password on the following page to confirm the reactivation of your account.
https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account [ED: This was a HTML email. Real url was to a worldofvvarcraft.com domain]
- Verify that your contact information is accurate and update it if
necessary.
- Create a new, not-easily guessed, secure personal password; an
example of this may include letters and numbers.
- Please be sure to scan the computer system you are using to remove
all viruses, Trojan files, and key loggers.
- Maintain safe Internet practices and safeguard all World of Warcraft
account information for the most secure gaming experience.
================================================== ====
Website Support:
A wide variety of Account Administration questions and answers are available on our web site at: http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowaa
================================================== ====
================================================== ====
Server Status Forum:
If you cannot log onto World of Warcraft, you may want to check the
Server Status Forum for current maintenance downtime and information at: WoW Forums -> Realm Status
================================================== ====
================================================== ====
Game Masters:
Game Masters (GMs) are Blizzard Entertainment personnel that are available
in-game to assist you with your gameplay related questions, problems, etc. Learn
more about Game Masters, including how to contact them at http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowgm/
================================================== ====
================================================== ====
Best regards,
World of Warcraft Account Administration Team
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowaa
Blizzard Entertainment
*Emails to our Account Administration team may not receive a response for the following reasons:
- Use of profanity
- Spamming (sending the same email multiple times)
- Attachments containing viruses (these are deleted automatically)
- The message is a form of feedback or comment which does not require or request a reply
__________________

Morara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 01:51 PM  
Testiculos habet et bene pendentes!
 
Kyrsten's Avatar
 
Character: Kyrsten
Guild: Imperium
Server: Mistmoore

Posts: 967
Photos: (1)

Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

I got one of those too today
__________________
Dirge / Defiler / Guardian
Kyrsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 11:50 PM  
Retired?
 
Niber's Avatar
 

Posts: 3,484
Photos: (203)

Send a message via AIM to Niber Send a message via MSN to Niber
Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

Domain Name: WORLDOFVVARCRAFT.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: Australian Domain Names, Global Domain Names, Web Hosting, Search Engine Optimisation, Web Design and Search Engine Marketing at Melbourne IT
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 21-jun-2008
Creation Date: 21-jun-2008
Expiration Date: 21-jun-2009

Fucking Aussies! I'd probably forward it to abuse@yahoo.com
__________________
Niber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 09:07 AM  
The Cute Little Pink Fairy
 
Sassybritches's Avatar
 
Character: Serenayde Tha Hot Trouby!
Guild: OMG not another bard!
Server: Only semi-retired

Posts: 898
Photos: (1)

Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

I work in a bank and I can not tell you how many people get scammed on Paypal for that same shit. People are so stupid. Usually older generation t hat doesn't have a clue.

Recently we have had an influx of people coming in with emails stating they won a lottery and all they have to do is send a wire transfer (usually a small amount like $150) to this certain account and then the winnings will be wired back. If you have ever done a wire transfer you know the other party has your account number and information.

My fave was this guy trying to sell his RV on EBAY for $75 grand. Some international man bought it, sent the wire transfer for double the money. Then sent an email to my Customer stating his secretary "accidently" sent him $150 grand and to please wire back the extra $75 grand. The money the man sent to my customer was from a bogus account (which we had to research for him). He was about to SEND the $75 grand out of one of his other accounts.... UMM HELLO!!! Stupid people.....
Sassybritches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 09:48 AM  
Retired?
 
Niber's Avatar
 

Posts: 3,484
Photos: (203)

Send a message via AIM to Niber Send a message via MSN to Niber
Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sassybritches View Post
I work in a bank and I can not tell you how many people get scammed on Paypal for that same shit. People are so stupid. Usually older generation t hat doesn't have a clue.

Recently we have had an influx of people coming in with emails stating they won a lottery and all they have to do is send a wire transfer (usually a small amount like $150) to this certain account and then the winnings will be wired back. If you have ever done a wire transfer you know the other party has your account number and information.

My fave was this guy trying to sell his RV on EBAY for $75 grand. Some international man bought it, sent the wire transfer for double the money. Then sent an email to my Customer stating his secretary "accidently" sent him $150 grand and to please wire back the extra $75 grand. The money the man sent to my customer was from a bogus account (which we had to research for him). He was about to SEND the $75 grand out of one of his other accounts.... UMM HELLO!!! Stupid people.....
AVG offers stupidity protection (green check mark), I make sure I install it on all the old folk's computers.


__________________
Niber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 06:02 PM  
The Cute Little Pink Fairy
 
Sassybritches's Avatar
 
Character: Serenayde Tha Hot Trouby!
Guild: OMG not another bard!
Server: Only semi-retired

Posts: 898
Photos: (1)

Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

MAybe I need to bring that to bank with me! It still amazes me how stupid people REALLY are. I have educated people with a lot of money who I wonder how they function day to day.

My parents have AVG... LMAO!
Sassybritches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 06:54 AM  
Sexual Chocolate
 
Kin Meds tbh's Avatar
 
Character: Medstbh tbh
Guild: Raiding Peat Bog with Newb Dawn since 2008
Server: There is only Nagafen

Posts: 4,476
Photos: (1)

Default Re: Interesting twist to phishing emails

So the person that banned my Priest for being power levelled by a Chinese fellow may not have been genuine!? Woot!
__________________
Fondest Regards,

Meds "Mangina4L" tbh

Kin Meds tbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Sponsor Ads


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0