+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    RL Drama - Facebook Niber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,324
    Character
    11111111111111111111
    Guild
    Guild
    Server
    Server

    Default An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    http://pc.gamespy.com/pc/everquest-i.../732409p2.html

    To actually curry the favor of your deity of choice, you either perform quests in their name, or sacrifice items to them. Once you've built up enough "favor," you can sit down to pray at an altar in your domicile -- it'll be an actual piece of in-game furniture -- and request them to rain miracles upon you. Miracles, believe it or not, will more or less be tangible items. Think of them as uber powerful consumables that you can use to sway the tide of a particular encounter. Your favor, effectively, serves as currency with which you purchase these miracles. Once you've run dry, you can curry more favor via the aforementioned means.
    Does this sound awful to anyone else? Having to farm for temp buffs in order to beat encounters? I was hoping they'd go more in the direction of farming for leet items and not temp buffs.

    New items introduced in the expansion will have "adornment slots" built into them, into which Transmuters can fashion enchantments to improve their overall performance. Fully modeled cloaks will also be made available to players for the first time, on which they can display their guild's emblem. These emblems will become more complex as the guild levels up, with different visual elements becoming available as certain milestones are met.
    I guess that is the new item progression, all our old gear will be outdated beacuse it lacks "adornment slots". Does the thought of 24 complex fully modeled cloaks give any other raiders shivers?

    Here's some more info gathered from the SOE boards.
    http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/e...d=15399#M15399

    Its actually quite different from the tribute system (I should know, I designed Tribute). So along the "more or less" spectrum it falls toward the less. The only thing that they share is the ability to donate your items.

    The only way to earn tribute was through donating items or cash. The Deity system offers quests as well as tithing.

    The tribute system was based around item effects, so what they could do was very limited. Everything in tribute was passive.

    Tribute was (essentially, yes you could turn it off) always on, and always charging you. Diety system abilities are all activated and limited use.

    The lore for the tribute system was based around the fear that the gods may one day abandon players (I should know, I wrote it ). The lore for the deity system is based around the return of the gods.

    Actually the only thing they share is that they have a "currency" that you "spend" to give yourself some sort of bonus, and you can donate items to gain this currency. Saying that Deity system is "more or less" tribute is like saying morning is "more or less" night... since they are both times of day. Which is true, but not an accurate representation of the facts. (There are more differences, but I'm only sharing stuff we've already released ).

    Don't get me wrong, I think both are great systems, but they are as different as... um... night and day.
    It seems that this is our new progression, we'll be farming.. money, items and quests in order to level the Deity system. I wish I hadn't blown all my money on alts.

  2. #2
    Revolution 1, Cracatoa 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    111
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    Plat farmers everywhere are rejoicing.

  3. #3
    Troubadors ARE a DPS class!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,128
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    Nowhere does it say you will need these buffs to beat encounters. It says they could help,

  4. #4
    RL Drama - Facebook Niber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,324
    Character
    11111111111111111111
    Guild
    Guild
    Server
    Server

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    I assume "sway the tide of a particular encounter" would be the difference between winning and losing not the difference between winning and winning.

    At least that's how I read it. Maybe it'll be like you said, another way to give casual guilds a chance at beating content they shouldn't.

  5. #5
    Troubadors ARE a DPS class!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,128
    Character
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    I read it as like a Flask of the Titans potion (if you are familiar with WoW)

  6. #6
    Mae
    Mae is offline
    Nooblet Mae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5,478
    Character
    Maelani
    Guild
    Inner Circle
    Server
    Unrest

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    Yeah, I rolled my eyes as I did with tribute. Spending DKP on stuff just so I could turn it in for tribute because I had left it running while I afk'd for a while, and my number was low. It was retarded. I hope the system isn't so "necessary" because lord knows I'm broke enough as is!

    Maerie | Maehymn | Maelya | Maelani | Maedelyn | Maewyn | Maekita | Maerilyn | Maekenna | Maelynne
    Necro | Troub | Illusionist | Mystic | Warden | Brigand | Monk | Assassin | Shadow Knight | Beastlord
    Carpenter | Jeweler | Tailor | Woodworker | Armorer | Alchemist | Sage | Provisioner | Weaponsmith

  7. #7
    YOU SHALL NOT PASS! Illuminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12,370
    Character
    Aleraku
    Guild
    Server
    Everfrost

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    I hate basing a strategy off of consumables because if they're expensive enough and you wipe anyway, you're fucked. The only reason I keep as many cure potions as I do is from all the sage order dusts.

  8. #8
    100% Anti-Dev
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    973
    Character
    Khalan/Kazaumi
    Guild
    Server
    Retired

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    Basing any encounter off Consumables is a bad idea, because if itís tuned with them in mind then itís a big money sink/pita to beat. If itís tuned without the consumables in mind and the consumables are suitably powerfull (like the ones mentioned) then they trivialize the fight.

    Basically, making them optional is dumb.

  9. #9
    Done with MMOs, once again.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14,233
    Character
    Calaglin
    Guild
    Dissolution
    Server
    Guk

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    Quote Originally Posted by Khalan View Post
    Basing any encounter off Consumables is a bad idea, because if itís tuned with them in mind then itís a big money sink/pita to beat. If itís tuned without the consumables in mind and the consumables are suitably powerfull (like the ones mentioned) then they trivialize the fight.

    Basically, making them optional is dumb.
    WoW in a bottle, right fucking there.

    Anyway, fuck consumables, they shouldn't be in the game. Thus, no encounter should have any problem with it, because they don't exist. The weak ones we have right now are all that are needed. We don't need any consumables, fuck consumables they are the bane of raiding.
    Calaglin, Former Illusionist/Guild Leader of Dissolution on Nektulos for EverQuest II
    Calaglin, Former Illusionist/Guild Leader of Confirmed on Unrest for EverQuest II

  10. #10
    Lil Newbie Pudaan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6,193
    Character
    Pudaan
    Guild
    Server

    Default Re: An EoF preview you'll actually want to read..

    With what SOE has done with this game so far. Diety quests will be finished by anyone who plays this game in the first week of EoF and will give casual gamers some 30min buff so they can solo waaay better!

    Maybe raiders might get something, but in 3 weeks of raiding EoF it will become obsolete and a waste of time doing the quests for whatever the rewards they are. I highly doubt that the quests will be all that difficult and the rewards and going to be a joke.
    <img src=http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h26/raloorn/bnananaparty-2.jpg border=0 alt= />

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 96
    Last Post: 01-02-2007, 11:29 AM
  2. lol internet
    By Calbiyum in forum Crushbone and Lucan D'Lere
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 11:32 PM
  3. Saragonas is a lil bitch
    By Gargg in forum Befallen
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 02:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Sponsor Ads